All Dressed Up Chocolate Cake

IMG_20160214_153933
Decorate the top of the cake with candies (like these gummy hearts) for extra festive flair

Valentine’s Day means an abundance of sweets at my house and an extra-special dinner from my dad, who made pasta with homemade meat sauce in honor of my mom and I- awwww. My dad’s sauce is one of those recipes I’d love to post on this blog, but I haven’t mastered the knack of balancing the tartness of the tomatoes and the sweetness from sugar and red wine. The other day my dad said, “Everyone has their own sauce, you start off with someone else’s and then make it your own.” I’m not there yet but I know what I like in a tomato sauce, so hopefully with practice and patience I’ll be able to create my own unique version and share it with you all.

My contribution to Valentine’s Day dinner was a chocolate cake that’s one of my go-tos for special occasions. Easy to throw together but with a huge chocolate taste and moist, dense and fudgy texture, this cake dresses up chocolate cake mix in a way that will wow  your friends, family (or Valentine!) any time of year.

As for frosting, I used store-bought (cookies and cream flavor) this time and it turned out great. Feel free to use your favorite homemade or store-bought frosting for this recipe, either way you’ll have a cake that’s way more chocolaty and rich than your usual box cake.

All Dressed Up Chocolate Cake

Recipe Notes: Be sure to check the capacity of your bundt pan, since many of them will only hold 8-10 cups. Flour the sides of your bundt pan by placing about of tablespoon of flour in the bottom, then turning the pan on its side and slowly rotating it. If you wish to omit the rum just increase the amount of milk to 1/2 cup.

  • 1 box chocolate cake mix
  • 1/4 cup chocolate milk (or plain full-fat milk)
  • 1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 lb sour cream
  • 1 package or 4 serving sizes chocolate fudge instant pudding mix
  • 12 oz or 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup dark rum
  • Frosting of your choice, homemade or store bought
  1. Preheat oven to 350º. Generously grease a 12 cup bundt pan and lightly flour it.
  2. Beat together butter, sour cream, rum and chocolate milk. Then beat in eggs. Stir in cake mix and pudding mix. Fold in chocolate chips. Spoon batter into pan
  3. Bake 55-65 minutes. Let cake cool completely in pan before frosting. Invert cake onto a wire rack or plate to remove from pan. Decorate!

 

2 thoughts on “All Dressed Up Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

